TravelExpertGuide - The travel guide you can trust. News, articles, directories and dictionary on travel.
Travel Forum    Air Travel
Travel Discussion Forum

how long before my flight leaves do i need to be at the airport?

if my flight leaves at 2pm what time should i go to the airport at i was thinking getting there at 12 is that about right? its for a flight to greece so not long haul.

Check our article section Travel Tips
7 Air Travel Tips
Post reply   New thread
Show all answers

I always arrive two hours before my plane leaves. This allows for security and check in. Yes, you may be waiting but it's the only guarantee against crap happening. Just bring a good book and money. Go to the shops and look around.

we always allow 3 hours just in case of heavy traffic. also....extra security at airports now take longer....better be safe than sorry.

2 hrs in advance if its an International flight and not a peak travel season. Be there by 10.

Dakota H
I am a pilot for US Airways, and I recommend

45 minutes-1 Hour for domestic. But, depending on hour busy the airport is, I would tweak this time a little. Flying out of Grand Rapids, MI and Chicago Ohare are two different wait times.

2-2.5 Hours International, just because of all the random TSA checks, and security measures. Passport stamps, etc etc.

Enjoy your flight.

You need to be there 2 -3 hours and get checked in

One hour before departure for domestic flights, 2-3 hours prior for international is the general rule of thumb

it might help to state what country you are in
yahoo answers is world wide fourm so I live in Los Angeles
and fly tio greece from los angeles would be long hall
since Athens has had lot of problems i would even get there
ealier say 11am or 10am they should have stepped up secuirty
but there have been at least 3 incients where terriorts have placed
bombs on the aircraft or hijack them
and both planes had stopped in Athens..
one TWA plane bomb blew up