TravelExpertGuide - The travel guide you can trust. News, articles, directories and dictionary on travel.
Travel Forum    Ireland
Travel Discussion Forum

Moving to republic of Ireland - advice please?

I am a uk resident
Im considering an urgent move to the republic of ireand , Im unable to state my reasons but may need to leave urgently soon
I need some advice

I have 2 very young children
Will i beable to recieve housing benefit and other assistance whilst over there?
once settled would i beable to work legally and recieve assitance with child care costs
would i be allowed to rent property and get my oldest child in a school
any other similar advice greatly appreciated]

i am not a criminal nor have i done anything wrong but for my childrens protection and safety have been advised by an MP to leave england soon

Check our article section Travel Tips
Travel App of the Week: Trover
Post reply   New thread
Show all answers

Priscilla Duck
First off, please ignore the braindead people who say that English people aren't welcome here, that is absolute rubbish. There are over 120,000 UK citizens currently residing in Ireland, if there was a problem, you would know about it by now.

Secondly, everything that you are entiltled to in the UK you will be entitled to here. You will just have to get a PPS no. (social security no.) which is a pretty painfree process. Go to for details on this and all other aspects of moving to Ireland.

Thirdly, if your MP is advising you to leave the country, perhaps you should ask him/her for some assistance with the move. The British embassy should be able to put you in touch with a refuge/aid agency that can help you if you or your children are at risk. I have no idea what your circumstances are, but if you are in danger there are people who can help you. Most of the organisations who help with this sort of thing have sister agencies here in Ireland. Get in touch with them, they will also be able to give you advice.