TravelExpertGuide - The travel guide you can trust. News, articles, directories and dictionary on travel.
Travel Forum    Vietnam
Travel Discussion Forum

Chelsea B

Why were the soldiers from Vietnam treated so bad when they came home?

I am writing an essay about why our veterans should be honored and i have been doing some research about it and i have seen that they have been treated badly but i can't really find an answer so if you could help me out it would be great! thanks!!
--Chelsea*d :)

Check our article section Travel Tips
Taking a Road Trip in Australia
Post reply   New thread
Show all answers

I wasn't mistreated, and I don't personally know anyone who was.
There may well have been some who had problems.
The anti war people hated everything and everyone that loved this country.

I am a Viet Nam veteran so I'll try to explain as best I can..

During the mid 1800's France colonized Viet Nam. They were expelled during World War 2, but after the war ended they tried to re-colonize the country. In the early 1950's the north Viet Namses, supported by Chinese and Russian communists began an insurgence into south Viet Nam supported by the French. The United States government looked at this incursion as a continuation of the spread of communism in Asia that began during the Korean War, so they supported the French. The French suffered a humiliation defeat at the battle of Dien Bien Phu in 1954 and withdrew from the country. The United States assumed the main support of south Viet Nam and its army.